Stormwater Management

Vermilion County’s Stormwater Management Program meets the requirements of the Illinois EPA (IEPA). The permit requires Vermilion County to comply with Phase II of the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Stormwater program for Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4) and allows the County to discharge stormwater into its receiving streams.

As a condition of the MS4 permit, the County must adopt and implement six minimum control measures to improve the water quality of its stormwater discharges. The six minimum control measures are:

  1. Public Education and Outreach
  2. Public Participation and Involvement
  3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  4. Construction Site Runoff Control
  5. Post-construction Runoff Control
  6. Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping


The County collaborates with neighboring communities that also have MS4 permits by sharing information and resources to best comply with Vermilion County.


To report a problem, contact Adrian Greenwell: e-mail: