## Minutes of December 13, 2023 meeting of the Danville Election Commission

- 1 . Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Barbara Bailey at 1:00 p.m.
- 2. Attendance: Present were Chairperson Barbara Bailey, Vice Chairperson Thomas Mellen, newly appointed Commissioner Frank Young, and Secretary David Ryan; also present was Executive Director Sandra Delheye.
- 3. Approval of Agenda: The agenda was approved unanimously on motion of Thomas Mellen, seconded by David Ryan.
- 4. Approval of Minutes: The minutes of the November, 2023 meeting were approved on motion of Barbara Bailey, seconded by David Ryan.
- 5. Approval of Payables: On motion of David Ryan, seconded by Thomas Mellen, the payment of \$380.10 in payables was unanimously approved. Said payables consisted only of a Verizon bill.
- 6. Voter Registration Numbers/ November, 2023: Sandra Delheye reported active voters in the total amount of 15,503 (a decrease of 129) and inactive voters in the amount of 2,587 (an increase of 124). Ms. Delhaye indicated that the changes were due in large part to the recent canvas.
- 7. Audience comments: None
- 8. Commissioner comments: Barbara Bailey welcomed newly appointed Commissioner Frank Young to the Commission, and presented him with her copy of the Election Code (which she had personally and extensively annotated). On motion of David Ryan,

seconded by Thomas Mellen, the following Commissioners were elected to the following positions for the coming year: Chairman, Thomas Mellen; Vice-chair, Frank Young; and Secretary, David Ryan. All present expressed gratitude to Barbara Bailey for her 40 years of service to the Commission, and it was agreed the group would meet across the street at the

Fischer Theatre under the marquee for a photograph of the group, as the marquee contained an announcement of Barbara Bailey's retirement from the Commission.

- 9. Director Comments: None
- 10. Adjournment: On motion of Thomas Mellen, seconded by Frank Young, the meeting was adjourned at 1:20 p.m.

David Ryan, Danville Election Commission Secretary